Why does getting strong make me feel so weak?

I went to the gym last night to check out the “BodyPump” class. I had read in Gina Kolata’s “Ultimate Fitness” that this class did not have the scientific merit to build muscle and in Shauna Reid’s “The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl” that it was an incredibly amazing experience that left you feeling strong and empowered.
I think I’ve spent too much time reading about the class, so I decided to check it out for myself.
I was instructed to gather two barbells,two hand weights, a mat, and a step bench. I did so and sat on the bench in my cute little fat unicorn shirt. About eight other people showed up for class and set up their weights, with only one man in the entire class.
The instructor played some annoying payola dance pop and we got started. We lifted barbells, squatted, thrusted, and otherwise tortured ourselves for the entire hour. I hated absolutely every moment in the class…my joints were shaking and my form went downhill at record speed. It probably didn’t help that I had mistaken the “5” on the weights to mean pounds instead of kilograms.
Typically, I will run on the treadmill or take another class after a group class…..but not this time. I staggared out of that class and weaved like a drunk person on the way home.
I’m not sore, just fatigued to the point of opening doors with my face.

~ by jamiesnydertv on April 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
