Why is my plate of interest to you?

One of my biggest pet peeves is other people commenting on what I have to eat.
I’m from California, where eating disorders run rampant, and nobody comments on your meals.
In LA, I could walk into a Dunkin Donuts and order two dozen chocolate glazed and a small coffee, and no one would bat an eye. I could go to a restaurant and order a celery stalk, and iced tea, and no one would care.

Upon moving to Virginia, every single cashier/waitress interjects with her own little comment.

“That all you gonna eat, hon?”

“Big appetite today!”

“Being ‘good’ today?”

“I could never eat that much rice!”

What is with all the little comments? It doesn’t seem to matter if I am at a restaurant, eating my sandwich on the steps, or ordering a diet soda.

It definately seems to be a regional thing.

~ by jamiesnydertv on April 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “Why is my plate of interest to you?”

  1. At least in Dallas/Fort Worth, we leave each to their own eating portions/habits.

    • We do in California too, I think it’s because everyone’s eating habits out there tend to be pretty outlandish, so the tolerance level is high.
      In the Southeast, not a lot of green, unfried things to be had, so deviations on that theme tend to get a lot of attention.

Leave a Reply

 
