Embracing my inner cat-lady

I started a new cross-stitch project this weekend.

In the past, I’ve done a few kits, but nothing like this. With this project, the instructions were in a magazine, I had to go out and gather all the various supplies, match colors, measure fabric and tape parameters. Once home, I had to sort colors, cut lengths, and count stitches. I’m so used to the kits that have everything you need on one little bag, so this is proving to be quite an adventure.

So, after 6 hours on my first day, here’s what I came up with….

Day 1

And then after 8 more hours on the second day, here’s what I had…
Day 2

See the difference? Me neither. Between day one and day two I added a few more colors and some depth to the border, and now I’m ready to
start adding the flowers. It’s supposed to be a small flower sampler with the words “A Victorian Garden” sewn into the middle. I’m trying to think of something funny or crass to put instead, but based on how things are going now, I think I have plenty of time to think about it.

Any suggestions?

~ by jamiesnydertv on May 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
