In Lincoln’s Hand…..

My close friends know how much I love fancy little journals with fancy paper. I’ve bought many expensive ones over the years, I’ll begin keeping a diary for a month or so and abandon my terrific little bound book when I see an even more fantastic journal in a book store.

I think maybe subconsciously if I put my words on fancier paper, my words will have more meaning. I’m reminded of a story I read once where a mother was preparing her daughter for marriage, and gave her some jade earrings. “When you wear these, people will think your words are more valuable.”

Maybe I put these same feelings into my journals.

Over my lunch break today I walked the two blocks to the US Capitol building to check out the museum that had opened up there a couple of months ago. In the museum collection were some writings by Abraham Lincoln from the time he was a senator from Illinois.

It was humbling to be in the presence of the original words of such a great man, in his original hand.

I’ve been to the Smithsonian Museum of American History to see the Gettysburg address, the Emancipation Proclamation and other important works of his presidency, written on special parchement, but this was the first time I had seen his writings as a senator.

These great words were written on nothing more than cheap notebook paper. They were written on simple legal pads.

~ by jamiesnydertv on May 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
