Finding new in the old….

On August 5, 2009, I will be boarding a plane to go from Washington, DC to Sacramento, CA. I’m returning after two years. But what am I returning to?

Lately I’ve been connecting with old friends from the area, sharing old jokes and old memories. But what happens when the novelty of memory wears off?

I’m going to stay with old friends, go to my old school, and be near my old neighborhood, but so much has changed.

My friends have all grown up. They have jobs, families, responsibilities…it’s starting to sound like our chants of “OMG we are gonna party so hard,” are naiive and immature.

My classmates have moved on, my car has been sold, my favorite radio station has gone off the air. Linens-N-Things, my employer for well over two years, has shut its doors as a result of the recent economic downturn. My grandfather has passed away. My parents have aged. My sister has gotten fat.

The only thing that has changed is my desire to be somewhere else.

~ by jamiesnydertv on May 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Finding new in the old….”

  1. We are going to party hard. I think you are naive and immature to think that we are not. You are one of my bestest friends and we will have to celebrate your release from bondage. We will get retarded drunk, we will get baked. Once my guy’s crop is in, I plan to get you some icky sticky. You have people here that love you and will support you through the transition. AND, where the HELL are the entries about me!!!! I deserve multiple entries about how freaking awesome I am!!!

    • You totally do deserve your own entries. I sincerely look forward to when I can write, “I don’t remember much, but Matt says I…..”

      I find it hilarious that before I’ve established a job, real housing, ambitions, etc I’ve somehow managed to line up a weed guy.

      My life is so awesome because you’re in it!

Leave a Reply

 
