Bucket List – Running a Marathon

I’ve been looking informally for a shorter race to serve as a litmus test for the marathon on October 4th, and I found in my office in-box a postcard for something called the “Young Lives 5k.” The event is in two weeks. They are raising funds to provide assistance and job training for teen mothers.

Perfect!

The postcard had places for my name, age and t-shirt size on the back, but no instructions on where to submit my registration. I went to the website listed on the front of the card and didn’t find any information either.

I clicked on a tab on the site called “mission statement,” and the first words were…

Throughout Scripture, God make it clear that He’s in the rebuilding business. Time after time, He orchestrates fresh starts for lives that seem devastated beyond repair. Joseph, Naomi, Nehemiah and Rahab all experienced God’s restoration firsthand – and later, Jesus left a legacy of renewal when He lifted the head of the woman caught in adultery.

I’ll pass.

While I am not a “fan” per se of abortion and believe we as a country should do everything in our power to prevent the numbers of teens seeking termination (ie- providing birth control methods and in-depth education beginning at an early age.) I also believe that the goverment has no right to dictate the timing, spacing, or number of children that I do or do not have. I am also a firm believer in the separation of church and state. I am not a religious person by any means, and any allusion to “God” turns me off completely to any other argument you may have.
I appreciate the pro-life movement, its motives and its reasoning when it is conducted in a rational, secular, and nonviolent way.

I wish the organization luck, but I will not be participating.

I found an 8k race on July 4th that does not conflict with my beliefs.

~ by jamiesnydertv on May 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
