The Continued Running Adventures of Jamie….

I’ve been doing a running program that is hinged on interval training, running for a set period of time at full speed and then speed walking for a set period of time. The idea is essentially that the total time period (30-40 minutes) does not change, but that the intervals change so that eventually the time spent running grows and the time spent walking shrinks, lessening my dependence on the “rest period” in-between running.

Anyway, this week was the first week of my training schedule. I ran on Monday, on Thursday, and today.

Monday sucked ass.

I barely made it through my intervals, kept losing track of the time and felt nauseated throughout the second half of my run. I attempted some hills that I ended up losing steam on. I stretched out one of my rest periods about a minute longer than I should have.

Thursday was difficult, but I powered through it on the treadmill at my gym. During my first interval I had some shooting pains in the outer back sides of my thighs, either from the hills or from some general “jiggliness” on my part. I did each interval as prescribed and felt great afterwards.

Today I ran in Sligo Creek Park, a hilly region with mud, rocks, puddles, and families out for a picnic.

You guys? I rocked it!

My intervals were pain-free, perfectly timed, and I finished strong. I pushed myself slightly out of my comfort zone each time and finished strong. I added 10 seconds to my final interval, and at the end of my final rest period, I added one more interval!

I’ve been so in awe of what my body can do that I’m starting to see my first marathon as an actual reality.

~ by jamiesnydertv on May 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
