So, how am I doing?

It’s been three days since I’ve made my five goals for June…here’s how I’m faring –

On Ending my dependence on caffeine…
         I’ve gone from 4-5 cups of coffee per day in the last few weeks to three cups per day, and today is the last day to have two cups. I’ll limit myself to one cup per day starting tomorrow and lasting about a week, then I’ll be done.

On sticking with my running program…
          On this I’ve actually done better than expected. My prescribed program right now involves three running sessions per week, with rest days in between to recover. I’ve found that 24 hours between sessions is ample time to recover and I’ve done three training sessions in a row, and I’m even planning to run again tonight. I never thought that I would look forward to a training session. The weather forecast predicts some heavy rain during my session, which is usually an excuse to take a day off, but today I’m excited to be running in the rain!

On staying away from alcohol – 
          This has been easy so far because I haven’t had any money. I am a little worried that tomorrow’s payday combined with today’s refusal to sit-out a training session will result in taking a  night off to drink, but  I have made my “no booze in June” declaration to the household and hopefully that will keep me strong.

On Losing 10 pounds….
          This likely won’t happen, at least not completely. Willpower is a finite thing, albeit one that can be exercised. I had a rather sugary muffin yesterday morning, and the sugar spike/crash cycle likely dampened by running later in the evening. However, my internal monologue was more focused on “that muffin wasn’t ideal for my running,” rather than “you ate that muffin you fatty fat fat fat!”  This, I think, is progress. I’m sure I’ll lose some weight this month, but probably not the entire ten pounds.

On sending $100 to my new home…..
          At my office I have a priority mail carton full of some books that I am sending to myself in California. Immediately upon returning from cashing my paycheck, $50 is going into the box, and the box will be mailed. Out of sight, out of mind. Perhaps the absence of $50 from my already tight budget will make stopping off for beer even harder?

  So far, I’m doing ok. I’ll do another tempurature check in a few days.

~ by jamiesnydertv on June 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
