Feeling rather proud of myself!

I’ve kicked the coffee habit!

After tapering down my coffee intake the past few weeks, last Wednesday was my last cup of coffee. Now I am starting my mornings with a single cup of green tea, and not even every day. I’ve since built up my kitchen tea arsenal to include all kinds of tasty noncaffenated goodies.

And you know what? I feel worlds calmer. I am so much less frustrated with the things around me. I’ve also become markedly desnarkified. My followers on Twitter have noticed a definite decline in “Dear so-and-so, fuck you, love Jamie” type updates.

In the mornings now I can read a few chapters from a book or be otherwise productive before having to get dressed and going to work.  I’ve discovered that during the workday I have a bit of an oral/manual fixation still…when stressed I find my hand reaching toward my mug. I’ve sort of solved this by having a small bottle of lotion and a pot of lip gloss nearby.

As for my other goals, I ended up putting $300, not $50 away for my trip back home, although my savings may take a major hit soon. My laptop is in the shop with a bad case of “why-won’t-my-screen-stop-flickering-itis.”

I’m sticking with my exerise program, but I am not progressing as quickly as I would like. As a result, I may have to push back my first marathon. This seriously bums me out, but as long as I am moving forward, I suppose all is good.

I’ve also been drinking a bit, but the good news is that I have been having just one or two drinks with positive friends instead of downing a six pack while at home and shooting “I-hate-you” stares across the room, then ordering chinese food. So the dynamic has totally changed.

As for losing ten pounds, I did not think that it was feasible, given that I was running so rigorously with emphasis on endurance. Now, since it looks like my marathon is getting pushed back, why not just go for broke? Fuck it. My fridge is full of cottage cheese and apples so lets just do this.

Thoughts?

~ by jamiesnydertv on June 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
