I didn’t know the songs….

I’m on an email list for the radio station that I used to listen to in Sacramento constantly. I listened to the morning show every day on my drive into school and would blast it super loud on I-5 on my way back home in the afternoons, when there was no traffic and I could go as fast as my little 1996 Corolla would take me. I knew the words to every song and would scream out the lyrics as if they were the only mantra that could keep me sane.

I got an email today from the station to complete a survey in order to enter to win four tickets to the local waterpark. I thought that was a really cool prize and began the survey.

The survey began with the standard demographic information, and then I was supposed to listen to snippets of songs and tell the station whether I was familiar with a song, liked the song, or thought that it had received too much airplay and was sick of it. I plugged my earphones into the computer and started listening.

Nothing.

Out of 30 songs, I recognized only one.

This just serves to highlight the diconnectedness I’ve felt over the past two years. I’ve forsaken familiar haunts and sensations to isolate myself on the opposite side of the country. I’m not in school, I’m not learning anything new.

My hometown, even though it is not exactly a metropolitan wonderland, has grown up without me. My friends’ kids are growing up, everyone’s gotten better jobs, and I’ve been out here, completely stagnated with my MP3 player that hasn’t changed rotation since I left.

August 5th can’t come soon enough.

~ by jamiesnydertv on June 16, 2009.

2 Responses to “I didn’t know the songs….”

  1. time for you to come home jamie ❤

  2. FYI- the other dude with the same name as me is job hunting; you may want to see if he has any leads for you.

Leave a Reply

 
