Living life out loud…..

As long as I can remember, I’ve been embarrased for other people to hear the music from my headphones.

I like to listen to my MP3 player as loud as possible, especially when I’m alone, but if I am, say, walking down the street with my music blaring and someone else approaches, I will turn the music down.

I’m not sure why this is.

It’s not exclusive to my headphones. When I had a car I would blare my music while I was going down the freeway, but in close traffic I would always turn the music down. It’s not like I listen to dorky music or anything, I guess I’m just shy about letting my guard down and rocking out publicly.

Lately I’ve been running every day, and it’s been feeling so good that I crank the dial to 11 and take off down the street….bystanders be damned!

I was feeling so unabashedly awesome that I took my camera with me on my run and actually talked into it despite the occasional people who would come by. It is a radical departure from my usual reserved self.

<object width=”425″ height=”344″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/UOXZaKp1TeM&hl=en&fs=1&”></param><paramname=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”></param><param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/UOXZaKp1TeM&hl=en&fs=1&” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowscriptaccess=”always” allowfullscreen=”true” width=”425″ height=”344″></embed></object>

I think the video came out pretty well, don’t you think?

It was the first time I publicly filmed myself. I usually don’t have an issue with other people holding the camera on me, but I feel very awkward turning the camera around on myself, much less in public!

So, there’s been a bit more growth.

Why am I so worried about being heard? Is it that I don’t have anything of value to say? I shouldn’t be so afraid to turn up the volume in my life.

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
