It is not what I am, but rather what I can do

I am a recovered (somewhat) chronic dieter.

I used to log calories, count points, and reduce everything I ate to a simple balance sheet. I never really enjoyed anything I ate or any exercise I did, since I rated every activity I participated in with the question, “can I lose weight doing this?”

Then I took up running.

I stopped viewing food as a necessary evil and now ask the question, “will this make me run further?”

I started off very slowly, running only 60 seconds at a time, then 90 seconds, then 3 minutes, 5 minutes, 8 minutes, and 10 minutes.

I am now up to about 20 minutes, at which time I will walk for 90 seconds, then run for 20 minutes more.

I know what powers my runs, and I know what does not. I know it takes a single alcoholic drink over 48 hours to clear my system. I know a few bites of cottage cheese can repair my muscles and get me going in about 12 hours. I know that my personal bests tend to be fueled by Chipotle.

I know that sprint intervals have me stumbling in the door with my lips turned up like a pothead.

I like the rounded, muscular shape that my butt and legs have taken. It is so much more enjoyable that the melted look of 500 calories per day.

I am absolutely hooked.

I am a runner.

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
