Checking one off the list….

Three weeks from today, I will be leaving DC.

It’s time to cross a few things off the bucket list.

I added “Visit all the Smithsonian Museums” to my list yesterday, and then listed all the museums as presented on the Smithsonian’s website. I crossed off the ones I’ve already visited and then went off to to National Zoo and the National Portrait Gallery. I took some amazing pictures (now uploaded to my Facebook).

Today’s trip is to the Freer and Sackler Galleries (the Smithsonian website makes it look like there is only one “Freer and Sackler” gallery, but there is in fact both a “Freer” gallery and a “Sackler” gallery,  two separate buildings) and then to the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture  Garden (another two-fer).

I love going to these museums! I also love getting the brochures and booklets that explain the exibits, because there are many pieces that do not allow photography, so its nice to be able to show off the different works of art. I have a nice, thick collection of museum brochures now….I seem to be hooked on collecting them! When I came to DC two years ago, I collected a thick stack of brochures and sent them to someone who really enjoyed them, so now I’m starting the collection over again.

Off to get dressed and out the door!

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
