“Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism,” a review

Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism

Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism

Today I had the pleasure of working out with Jillian Michael’s new fitness DVD “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism.”

I bought this DVD on Amazon the week it was available, along with it’s companion DVD. Until now they’ve both sat on my shelf while I worked out to her earlier release, “30-Day Shred,” which I enjoy on weekday mornings when I need to get a workout in but am pressed for time.

“Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism” is mostly a cardio workout, with the actual workout lasting just over 40 minutes, plus a 5-minute warmup and 5-minute cooldown. Jillian guides you through 7 workout circuits, with each circuit containing four or five exercises performed twice. The exercises are heavy on kickboxing movies and old-fashioned calisthenics (jumping jacks).  

Jillian doesn’t mess around. Once the workout has begun, she doesn’t stop. There is no rest. You will work hard for the entire 40+ minutes unless you hit pause on your DVD player. In addition to the option to play the entire workout from start to finish, you have the option to select from individual circuits as well. The necessary equipment is minimal; you only need a pair of good shoes and an optional mat, but if you are working out on a carpeted surface, you won’t need it. 
 
I would not recommend this DVD to anyone with knee issues. There are a lot of squats, jumps, and kicks that could aggravate a knee condition. Also, you know how earlier I said that Jillian doesn’t mess around? She doesn’t, at least once the workout has begun. She does, however, waste a few minutes at  the beginning introducing herself and telling you how we’re going to “blast the fat.” I found this repetition of what it essentially on the cover of the DVD to be a waste of time. Stop selling me the DVD that I already purchased! I personally would rather get to working out right away than spend a few minutes thinking about why I should work out because I’m a fat fat fatty. I suppose once the DVD is in, this pause is a good time to fill your water bottle, get your mat out, etc.

The music on the DVD is the typical inane Jane Fonda-style workout music, but luckily you have the option of turning it off and listening only to Jillian’s instruction. I would suggest playing your own music in the background.

I was rather unhappy with the “special features” on this DVD. A workout video does not need special features, unless if it maybe included an extra workout. The “features” on this DVD included what was essentially an extended commercial for Oral-B products. Of course, regular viewers of The Biggest Loser are used to being sold Jennie-O turkey, Brita water filters, cooking sprays and various exercise equipment.

I also take issue with the DVD’s stated promise to “Lose up to 5 pounds a week.” You won’t. If you are heavy enough to be able to safely lose 5 pounds in a week, odds are that you are not fit enough to complete the workout. You will, however, increase your cardiovascular fitness. It is a very challenging workout for the heart and lungs. I am not sure though that anyone could actually lose weight with this video at all, unless their diet was extremely well planned to provide the energy necessary to get through it. This is not a workout for someone eating 100-calorie snack packs.

Upon completion of this DVD, which took two attempts for me, I was soaked from head to toe. I had even achieved the coveted “sweat-V” on the front of my shirt. My forearms were sweaty. I don’t ever sweat this much! I also enjoyed it because at the $11 retail price, it was cheaper than many group classes, and I learned quite a few new moves that I can now master by doing this video again and again. I am personally glad I have it in my collection, and would definitely buy it again. I will be working out with it again!

I would recommend this DVD to anyone wanting to improve their level of cardiovasular fitness, or who like me need a video to work out with on days “off” from their normal athletic persuits. This video is not for people who are looking to lose weight, have knee issues, or who are chair bound.

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
