DVD Review: No More Trouble Zones

No More Trouble Zones

As I said earlier with Jillian Michaels’ “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism,” I bought this DVD in early February when it came out, and it sat on my shelf until I got serious enough to actually put it in my DVD player.

This workout is 50 minutes of total ass-kickery.

While “Banish Fat, Boost Metabilism” is largely focused on cardio intervals,  “No More Trouble Zones” is mostly strength training with just a little cardio. You need a set of dumbells and a mat, as well as a decently-supportive pair of cross trainers. There is no jumping or leaping, but plenty of squats and lunges. Someone with knee issues will be able to complete this workout with modifications.

The format is the same as the other of Jillian’s recent releases. She guides you through seven circuts that consist of 3-4 exercises each, done twice. Each exercise works at least two muscle groups, which is difficult for a first-timer or someone who isn’t terribly coordinated. One example is the “squat press,” which is performed by first squatting, then lifting dumbells in the air. The result is an allover burn. The exercises are very effective, and if you’re like me, you won’t be able to complete two sets of these combined exercises. I modified the squat press by doing just the squats on one rotation and the weight press on the next one.

Unlike “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism,” where Jillian wastes a lot of time introducing her backup exercisers, she gets started right away with a pretty intense warmup and jumps right in to the intervals. This is a definite bonus for someone who intends on using this DVD over and over again. Missing, however, is the advice to use smaller weights. I attempted this workout with my standard 10-pound dumbells, when I really should have used a 3 or 5-pound dumbell. I can do a bicep curl about 12 times with a 10-pounder, but it’s not something I can continue for 15 minutes. Now that I’m aware of the need for a smaller weight, I’m sure my next session will go much better.

I would put the toughness of this workout on par with P90x, but with much more adaptability for people of varying fitness levels.

It is definately getting a place in my normal workout rotation.

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
