I miss you, California

Exactly one week from this posting, I will be on a Metro train headed for Reagan Airport on my way to California. I’ve missed so many things, it’s hard to fathom.

I miss avocados.

I miss waking up on an August day and not having to check the weather to see if it’s going to rain or not.

I miss food that doesn’t come with a side of gravy.

I miss Sierra Nevada and Fat Tire Ale.

I miss being a 45-minute drive from San Francisco, snowboarding, surfing, the mountains and the lakes.

I miss the people I’ve grown up with.

I miss my mother bitching about how I never come over, and I miss having to make an excuse about being busy.

I miss how cops look the other way when your friend reeks of pot.

I miss the giant malls.

I miss being able to sneak a strong drink into the movie theatre.

I miss being able to buy liquor at the grocery store.

I miss calorie counts and nutrition facts being on EVERYTHING.

I miss the who’s skinniest/who’s got the best tan contests.

I miss seeing college students forgo buying textbooks in order to afford a $1,200 handbag.

I miss seeing the $8 flip-flops they wear to match the handbag.

I miss the waaaaay too white teeth.

I miss the “Black nod.”

I miss not being “allowed” to laugh at people who are walking stereotypes.

I miss how people don’t like to work out in public.

I miss how people wash their hair AND shave every single day, sometimes twice.

I miss how restarants legally have to offer a vegetarian option.

I miss how yoga is more of a fashion statement than a spiritual practice.

I miss how people can be vegan, but still buy Birkenstocks and leather bags.

~ by jamiesnydertv on July 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
