It’s fucking official….

On Friday I signed up for the California International Marathon on December 6.

I’ve never been more terrified by a “Pay Now” button in my entire life. I had to enter my credit card information twice because my hands were shaking!

I have no job and no prospects for a job. I’m essentially betting $84 (half of my net worth at the moment) that I will have the determination and focus to see this thing through to the end.

This morning I concluded Week Two of my training. With 13 weeks of scheduled training and 16 weeks until the actual marathon, I have the luxury of taking up to three weeks off if I need to recover from an injury, if I need to repeat a week due to poor performance, or to travel. That’s a rather comforting notion, it really takes a lot of the pressure off.

Another great thing about having three weeks to spare is that I’m trying to lose some weight in order to increase my speed. Weightloss and runing typically do NOT go hand-in-hand, so I see myself repeating weeks in the future due to my poor performance brought on by calorie restriction. I burn about 100 calories for every mile I run, so I need to keep that in mind when having my pre-run meals.

So now my registration confirmation is sitting in my mailbox…a scarlet letter “M.”

As soon as I filled out the entry form, I sat down and had a sandwich, wondering if I was crazy.

I probably am crazy, but you know what? That’s fine with me.

~ by jamiesnydertv on August 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
